Announcing: 2012 LA Stage Alliance Ovation Awards Presented Monday, November 12



2012 Ovation AwardsThe LA STAGE Alliance Ovation Awards, celebrating theatrical excellence and achievement during the 2012 season, were presented on Monday, November 12, at the Los Angeles Theatre in downtown Los Angeles.

Thirty-five awards were bestowed upon 13 different Southern California theatre companies. Leading the pack with 13 awards was Center Theatre Group (The Convert at the Kirk Douglas Theatre; Waiting for Godot at the Mark Taper Forum; War Horse at the Ahmanson Theatre; and Best Season), followed by Celebration Theatre with six (The Color Purple: A Musical), and Musical Theatre West with four (Forbidden Broadway: Greatest Hits, Volume 2;
Hairspray; and Man of La Mancha). The Antaeus Company (Peace In Our Time), and Theatre @ Boston Court (The Children) took home two awards each.

LA STAGE Alliance CEO Terence McFarland commented, “Tonight’s recipients reflect the diverse and rich landscape of greater Los Angeles theatre. The Ovation Awards are a celebration of excellence, and one way that LA STAGE Alliance shines a light on the fantastic work of our LA theatre artists. Theatres across the country should take note that these are the best of the best, and hire an Ovation Award-winning LA theatre artist today!”

For a complete list of winners, visit

Additionally, Sarah Lyding, Executive Director of the Biller Family Foundation, presented the Biller BEST (Building Excellence in Small Theatre) Awards, including checks totaling $100,000, to the following LA theatre companies: About Productions, The Antaeus Company, CASA 0101, Circle X Theatre Company, Ensemble Studio Theatre-LA, Independent Shakespeare Company, A Noise Within, and The Theatre @ Boston Court. Laura Penn,
Executive Director of SDC (Stage Directors and Choreographers Society), presented the 2012 Zelda Fichandler Award, for transforming the landscape of regional theatre through unique and creative work, to Cornerstone Theatre Company founder and current Artistic Director at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Bill Rauch. Center Theatre Group presented the 2012 Sherwood Award, for innovative and adventurous artists, to Los Angeles-based playwright and director John Sinner. This award is endowed by the Sherwood family, and is accompanied by $10,000 to further Sinner’s artistic work. LA STAGE Alliance was also presented with a Commendation from the office of California Assembly Speaker John Perez, for the commitment and unwavering
compassion that LA STAGE has dedicated to the performing arts in the City of Los Angeles.

Hosted by Jane Kaczmarek and Culture Clash co-founder Herbert Siguenza, this year’s presenters included many local performers, city officials, union reps, artistic and executive directors, stage managers and publicists, and included (in alphabetical order) Patrick J. Adams, Lindsay Allbaugh, LJ Benet, Seamus Dever, Elizabeth Doran, Kristy Edmunds, Davis Gaines, Glenne Headly, Nikki Hyde, Leslie Ito, Brian Kite, Christine Lakin, Michele Lee, Dawnn Lewis,
Monique L’Heureaux, Sarah Lyding, Lesli Margherita, Gates McFadden, Jessica Wethington McLean, Laura Penn, Assembly Speaker John Perez, Bill Rauch, Allison Rawlings, Mark Roberts, Kirsten Vangsness, Ken Werther, Vanessa Williams, and Charlayne Woodard.

LA STAGE Alliance is dedicated to building awareness, appreciation and support for the performing arts in Greater Los Angeles through community building, collaborative marketing/ audience development, professional development to strengthen the sector, and advocacy.  Providing access to the performing arts for patrons and access to information and resources for organizations has been the mission of the Alliance for over 35 years. The Alliance connects artists and arts administrators from over 500 groups annually in a six county region with opportunities to engage, inspire, educate and entertain over four million households that engage with the arts in our community. The Alliance engenders a stronger and more connected creative Los Angeles.

LA STAGE Alliance programs are sponsored, in part, by Actors Equity, The Angell Foundation, Arts Council for Long Beach, The Biller Family Foundation, California ArtsCouncil, California Community Foundation, City of Los Angeles Department of Cultural Affairs,City of Pasadena Cultural Affairs Division, City of Santa Monica Cultural Affairs Division, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, ELS, Goldstar, James Irvine Foundation, Andrew Mellon Foundation, Los Angeles County Supervisors through the LA County Arts Commission, MusiCares/Grammy Foundation, National Endowment for the Arts, Ralph M. Parsons Foundation, The Shubert Foundation, Sky Events & Productions, Sony Pictures Entertainment, and Green Hasson Janks.

# # #